Styles of Yoga


Ashtanga Yoga


Ashtanga is a method of yoga that synchronizes the breath with a progressive series of postures. This process produces an internal heat and purifying sweat, creating a deep detoxification of the muscles and organs. Improvement of circulation, a light and strong body, and a clean mind are just some of the benefits that are gained from a continuous commitment to Ashtanga yoga. The key to developing strength and flexibility through Ashtanga yoga is PRACTICE!


Mysore Style

Ashtanga Yoga can be experienced through led class or through mysore style. Mysore is the traditional way in which Ashtanga Yoga is taught, its name is derived from the town in which it was originally taught, Mysore India by Sri Pattabhi Jois. Mysore approach is a self-paced practice with guidance from the teacher. Over time with consistency this practice becomes a moving meditation. Ashtanga yoga, particularly mysore style cultivates a deep relationship between the student and teacher encouraging a continuum of self development and self realization.


Svadhyaya Yoga


Svadhyaya yoga combines elements of contemporary body-mind psychology with hatha yoga. It promotes the integration of the mind/body/spirit with the understanding of the self. Poses can be adapted to fit the needs & abilites of individual students. This form of yoga helps students promote health and wellness from within.

The 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga as described in the
Yoga Sutras of Patanjali


External Limbs

Yama – social ethics “restraints”

Niyama – personal ethics “internal restraints”

Asana – posture, sitting

Pranayma – breath regulation

Pratyahara – internalization of the senses, “drawing back”

Internal Limbs

Dharana – focus, concentration

Dhyana – maintaining a focus, meditation

Samadhi – complete absorption